Deficiencies

In my first post I admitted that my practice has some deficiencies. I want to talk about those deficiencies in more detail. After all, acknowledging that you have a problem is the first step in fixing it.

Consistency. Consistency is something I have a problem with. Currently, I live with family and try to avoid doing senut while everyone is home/awake. (This is more to avoid uncomfortable conversations than anything else.) With that in mind, I do try to practice as much as I can. My current goal is once per week, at least. I’m trying to be flexible as to what days I actually do senut, rather than trying to tie myself down to a certain day.

My godphone. I used to have a pretty decent godphone. I got feels a lot. Nowadays, not so much. I’m not sure what I have to do to get my godphone back. I’m willing to try just about anything. I know that re-developing my godphone is a central goal of my practice. I want to connect to the divine the way I used to.

Research. I need to do far, far more research than I have so far. I’m really starting to grasp how important symbolism was to the ancient Egyptians, but I am only just starting to understand what the symbolism means. Obviously, the BotD is where most people would turn to and that is something I want to sink my teeth into but not quite yet. I want to be able to understand it enough for it to be meaningful.

Ritual. I really need to find out how ritual structure worked in AE. I really like senut, and I’ll probably use it as my day to day ritual, but I’m not sure that that is all I want to do. I think I at least want the option to do more authentic ritual if I feel the need to.

Heka. I need to learn more about heka. I have a very good basic understanding of how to do it. I need to focus on what it means, especially in everyday applications. I’d like some more ideas for practical heka. I know other people have brilliant ideas about heka.

Ma’at. I have to remember to keep ma’at whenever possible. I’m not sure there is a way to keep ma’at at all times, but we still have to try to do our best. I just need to ingrain the concept, so that I don’t forget about it. That won’t solve my problem entirely, but it should help. I guess living ma’at is slightly different for each person, but I feel like there’s a certain element of respect embodied within it. Especially respect for the earth, at least for me.

These are the things I need to work on in my practice. Obviously, some of these are more important than the others but they are all things I want to work on. Only time will tell how well I’ll do on any of them.

Leave a Reply

