Godphone

I’m trying to figure out how to explain to concept of a godphone. Godphone is really just your ability to communicate with the divine. How that works varies from person to person and from god to god and may even vary from case to case.

Most polytheists seem to have some kind of godphone. But mine has been down for a while. Probably due to straight up neglect. You see, I went through a period of atheism. I believe this is when I lost my godphone, or at least it’s strength.

Lately I’ve had a bit more luck. Probably because I started doing offerings right away when I realized I’m not really that atheist. I just have a unique way of looking at existence.

The gods talk in funny ways. I asked for a sign and got a dream. I originally thought it was Heru, but with a little more information I’m pretty sure it was Ra. Why do I think it was Ra and not Heru? Well, he was wearing a solar disk. And a couple weeks later I got another sign.

You know dove’s chocolates? The individually wrapped heart-shaped ones? Well I decided to offer four of those (four was a number of completion in AE). Nothing too odd about that. But when I finished senut and opened them I got a bit of a surprise. All four of them said something about the sun.

Now otherwise this bag of candy had no oddities, we didn’t simply have an overabundance of these particular phrases showing up. I just reached in and grabbed four candies that all happen to mention the sun. I don’t know a lot about math, but I do know the probability of this occurring randomly is not very high.

So I feel it was a sign, a big in my face sign. Just like I asked for. So, that’s how much my godphone has worked in all of this. Four months I’ve been been at this, somewhat regularly, and that’s all I’ve got.

I’m guessing this will take both time and effort. I still don’t know how I will go about improving my godphone, but I know it needs to be done. I’m about to hit the googles to try to do some research on how to improve my godphone. I will probably also hit up the peeps on tumblr to get their opinion on the matter. I will be back to post some of the ideas I get within the next few days if not later today.

Leave a Reply

