Devoted without Devotion

This is a topic near and dear to my heart.
I do have feelings regarding the Netjeru, but they don’t seem to be like others’ feelings for the Netjeru. My own feelings are soft and they’re less my feelings than the feelings I seem to feel coming from the Netjeru. I really don’t feel a lot in regards to religion, sometimes it worries me sometimes it’s a relief.
But its still kind of odd feeling to be floating in a community where everybody seems to be in love with the gods and I’m kind of like “Meh.” Honestly, I have stronger feelings towards ma’at than the Netjeru. And for me, that’s okay. Keeping ma’at is (to me) the most important part of the religion. I see tending to the Netjeru as means to help keep ma’at and less a goal in and of itself. I’m sure some would think that’s disrespectful to the Netjeru. But I think they can take care of themselves for the most part at least. I know our belief is important, but I think that if the Netjeru subsisted on nothing but our belief they’d be thoughtforms not gods. Gods have angency, gods have powers we don’t understand. If they didn’t they wouldn’t be gods.
Back to my point. Its hard being in a community that seems to be tied together by something you don’t feel a part of. Maybe we could make a group for ourselves or something. Something to let others know its okay not to feel strong emotions towards the gods. A “polytheists anonymous” or something along those lines. I don’t know. I’m just thinking out loud.

The Twisted Rope

I have a hard time talking about devotion. The word devotion, much like the word worship, has a lot of baggage tied to it. And if you ask several people how they define devotion, you’ll get all sorts answers back. As it turns out, we all have a lot of different ideas about what it means to be devoted to the gods. And it makes sense why a lot of people would have differing, and sometimes conflicting, ideas about devotion, as the definitions for the word devotion run the gamut:

de·vo·tiondəˈvōSH(ə)n/ noun
  • a feeling of strong love or loyalty: the quality of being devoted
  • the use of time, money, energy, etc., for a particular purpose
  • devotions: prayer, worship, or other religious activities that are done in private rather than in a religious service
  1. profounddedication;consecration.
  2. earnestattachmenttoacause,person,etc.
  3. anassignmentorappropriationto

View original post 1,423 more words

Leave a Reply

